Oyster Mushrooms

I packed up the dogs this morning and went hunting the oyster mushroom. I believe the mushroom I pick on dead or dying poplar trees this time of year to be Pleurotus populinus, although today I met up with a fellow who told me no that couldn’t be true because Pleurotus populinus isn’t listed in Baron’s guide. He believes the mushrooms are Pleurotus dryinus, but I think they have a suede-like texture and these mushrooms do not. In any case, we can agree to call them oyster mushrooms and we can agree that they grow on dead or dying poplar trees for a brief period this time of year.

Today I had guests, my old friend A and two new friends my brother asked me to take along. Fortunately, we found plenty of tasty mushrooms for everybody.

The first ones of the day…nice and fresh.

Sometimes they’re easy to reach but other times a long stick is required.

Where did this morel come from?

Another old morel, this one under a maple tree.

A pretty good morning of mushroom hunting.

5 thoughts on “Oyster Mushrooms”

  1. Try them as a schnitzel! Dip them in flour, then in beaten egg, and then in bread crumbs. Suggetion: sprinkle a generous amount of shaved almonds into the bread crumb mix. It adds crunch. Fry them in a mixture of oil and butter. Delish. Don’t forget to season the flour/egg/bread crumb mix.

  2. The guy who suggested these are P. dryinus is wrong. They are P. populinus. Dryinus lacks the distinctive aroma that populinus has. Dryinus grows on oak and beech not generally on poplar. Dryinus has a veil and a ring on the stem , populinus does not. Dryinus is considered a late summer/fall mushroom, populinus fruits now. Don’t let him mislead you!

    1. Fresh, they are very tasty fried up and mounded on toast. Last night, I sauteed some, then added eggs and scrambled them and served then with organic bacon, toast and a big dollup of some rockin’ good pepper relish.

      1. Dried, you can just toss them into a soup or stew.

        I gave some to a neighbour yesterday, who cooked them up on the bbq and said they were excellent that way.

Comments are closed.