No mushrooms in Southern Ontario

In the last few days, an alarming number internet surfers have landed on my blog after searching for information on edible mushrooms in Southern Ontario. I would like to ease the troubled minds of these individuals right now. There are no edible mushrooms outside of grocery stores in Southern Ontario. None. Zero. Nada. Zip. Don’t even bother going out for a look. You won’t find any. Let me spell it out. Southern Ontario is a terrible place to go mushroom hunting. Ever since the edible mushroom blight of 2006, all edible mushrooms in Southern Ontario have either disappeared entirely or have been seen hitch-hiking to Quebec. As I mentioned in an earlier post back in the spring, Eastern Ontario and Quebec are both excellent places. I’ve heard North-West Ontario and Manitoba have their moments too. Here in Southern Ontario, though, I wouldn’t bother even trying if I were you.

I should also take a moment to remind you, gentle readers, that there are many species of deadly poisonous mushrooms in Southern Ontario. Many of those can be confused for the tasty edible kind. I don’t recommend you eat any mushrooms you pick from a Southern Ontario forest. The best thing to do if you pick some and you are not 100% certain what you have, is to give them to me. I’m willing to take one for the team and eat the ones I think are edible.

Finally, a special note to the guy who keeps doing searches for “King Bolete Map Southern Ontario” and “Porcini map Southern Ontario” and “edible mushroom hotspots Southern Ontario”,  I love your faith in your fellow humans, your confidence that if there were king boletes in Southern Ontario (there are NO EDIBLE MUSHROOMS IN SOUTHERN ONTARIO outside of grocery stores), someone would draw you a map to them.

12 thoughts on “No mushrooms in Southern Ontario

  1. Hmm, just read your opinion on Slippery Jacks. Just had them for the first time last night & they’re mild but pretty good if you ask me – a softer mushroom though, so it’s probably a texture preference kind of thing.
    I lived in BC and found many lobster mushrooms, pine mushrooms, chanterelles & such in the mountains some years, but not the amazing puffballs and field mushrooms that grow here!

  2. We pick meadow mushrooms by the grocery bag full during the early autumn months. There are also morels in the spring, shaggy manes during the summer/fall, red chanterelles, puffballs of many types, oyster mushrooms and parasol mushrooms, to name a few. Are you by chance looking to get “specific” information in order to take advantage of smeon else’s patch? Just curious, because your comments make absolutely no sense.

  3. Couple years ago We pick up many kind of wild mushroom in S. Ontario close to lake Erie forest,
    All mushroom requred wet weather and more rein and worm night. This year was dry season and mushroom not growing. The best place is Turkey Point area.

  4. glad you know nothing about edible wild mushrooms in the forests of ontario….more for me, have been picking and eating these delicious morsels for 73 years, am already checking my favourite areas, just waiting for the first crop…..and i only pick the kind i know, the other beauties I just admire..

  5. I have a wonderful time finding sidewalk mushrooms about 10 different spots in my town. Golf course has puff balls and other edibles. I know a spot where there are shaggy mane, have to get them early and Driads saddle everywhere. Of course, lots of inedibles. Tried fairy ring… why would anyone eat those? Meadow mushrooms also. So… yes, there are edibles in Southern Ontario.

  6. I GO PICKING IN THE COLDWATER AREA AND ALWAYS FIND TONNES OF MORELS, JAR THEM AND CONSUME DURING WINTER, NEVER HAD A PROBLEM, MIGHT WANT TO RECONSIDER THAT STATEMENT!!!!!

  7. I agree that there are some good mushrooms out there, I Have found them many times and I’m only a few hrs away from the GTO. You just have to be carfull at what you get get and when but once you find them ohhh is a good dinner that night.

  8. Hi Kevin. Perhaps you’ve been into the mushrooms of the hippy-dippy kind, imagining there are chanterelles and morels and so on around here. Not true. You don’t want to give people false impressions, my friend. Else they might feel compelled to go out to local forests and waste their valuable time looking. It’s best to simply assure folks that any trips to local forests are a waste of time. Trust me. I visit local forest all the time just to be sure. I concede there are slippery jacks, but then again calling slippery jacks edible mushrooms is pushing things, isn’t it? They are truly sad excuses for tasty edibles. My neighbour has them on his front lawn every year. Pick them, Mister Anchovy, he says. Ah, no thanks. You pick them.

  9. I am sorry to say, but I believe you are wrong friend. You see, I think your absolute statement of not one edible mushroom across all the forests and belts of SO is going a bit overboard.

    There are tons of chanterelles, morels, honey mushrooms and this is just me going to forests around the Greater Toronto Area.

    Obviously finding a king B is a long shot, but I think given the right climate conifer-y conditions before the winter the Gravenhurst area of Southern Ontario and places like Algonquin Park ( if you take into account that Southern Ontario begins from North Bay downwards.) it is an astute possibility.

    Let me know if there is glaring error in my logic. Thanks.

Have your say...

