Things I should have read….

For years I avoided reading Mordecai Richler’s books. I can’t tell you why because there is no reason.  I wish I understood it. I simply failed to read them. I knew he was a significant author. I knew I was missing out. I knew I knew I knew but still I ignored them. And then a few months ago, I read Solomon Gursky was Here. Wow, what a great book. I should have gulped that one down years ago.  Now I’m starting Barney’s Version. I missed the film and now I’m glad I did because I want to read the book first.

Are there books you’ve simply avoided reading, or books you intend to read but just haven’t got around to tackling? I’m a reasonably well-read guy I suppose, although compared to a few of my friends, not so much. There are many books in my intend to read pile and maybe eventually I’ll get to them. I’d like to see your lists of books you’ve been meaning to get to.

One thought on “Things I should have read….

  1. I have a few need to read soon things laying around…1ov ‘em iz sum kinda Kinky Friedman thing…another is some kind of do it anyway title activist thang…another is a Willie Nelson book by some Patoski writer…I’ve been reading The Baffler#19 and am ahlookin4ward 2 the Baffler#20…..and if I’m thinking ovittt I’ll b kinda clever and report to the skylark book club after each read!!!

Have your say...

