comments 19

Songs about cars

Here in the dying days of the American Empire, we don’t hear much celebration of the automobile anymore, but back in the days of rock ‘n roll, the car was a theme songwriters rarely tired of. Here are some tunes about cars that I really love.

The tune many consider to be the first rock ‘n roll song was about a car, a Rocket 88. Here’s the James Cotton Band showing how it’s done. Man, that was one hot band, wasn’t it?

Then there was soul man Wilson Pickett and Mustang Sally. I love those choreographed horns!

How about The Beach Boys – Little Deuce Coup? I’m not braggin’ babe so don’t put me down.

All my friends know the low rider
The low rider is a little higher
Low rider drives a little slower
Low rider is a real goer
Low rider knows every street yeah!
This means War.

Oh Lord won’t you buy me a Mercedes Benz.

I’m a rollin stone all alone and lost….Lost Highway.

Of course you can’t always be driving. The Passenger.

Let’s not forget Willie Nelson: On the Road Again.

While we’re in Texas, let’s head on down to Lamesa and hear Don Walser: Hot Rod Mercury.

I’ll finish my list with Chuck Berry, No Particular Place to Go, but it doesn’t end here.

Your mission: add to the list. Let’s see how many songs about cars we can come up with.

19 Comments

  1. That’s excellent and really nicely written.Usually I do not ever make comments on on the internet, but I have to say that this post really made me want to. Really great piece of information

  2. Big Al

    Here’s a few country ditties which are classics:
    “Mercury Blues” – Alan Jackson
    “the Car” by Jeff Carson

    Also, though there is some debate on whether they are talking about a woman or a car (I say car) is “Panama” by Van Halen.

    And because you are such a connoisseur on rap, I just had to include “My Hooptie” by Sir Mix-a-Lot.

    But seriously, what rap song DOESN’T make reference to their ride (Coupe de Villes, Lexus, Lamborghini) or their rims (shoes, bling, etc)??

  3. Here’s another 10…
    I’m changing my name to Chrysler by Tom Paxton
    Pontiac Blues by Sonny Boy Williamson
    One Headlight by The Wallflowers
    Road Runner by Bo Diddley
    Ol 55 by Tom Waits
    Terraplane Blues by Robert Johnson
    Big Yellow Taxi by Joni Mitchell
    Me and My Chauffeur by Memphis Minnie
    Life is a Highway by Tom Cochrane
    Going up around the Bend by CCR

    and one more…One Piece at a Time by Johnny Cash.

  4. Belle Barth

    (We’re Not) The Jet Set – George Jones and Tammy Wynette (classic!)
    Six Days on the Road – Dave Dudley

  5. No Cars Go – Arcade Fire
    I Love My Car – Belle and Sebastian
    Killer Cars – Radiohead
    California One Youth and Beauty Brigade – the Decemberists

    I wonder what people will think of car songs once we run out of oil?

  6. I love the Tracy Chapman song “Fast Car”. My nostalgia with that song…and with Bruce Springsteen songs about cars brings me to tears many times. A huge part of my life has been on the road driving and blaring a stereo, either traveling between army bases growing up, driving with friends as a young person, or road trips. Bruce Springsteen represented that consciousness in so many of his songs.

    Sherry Darlin’

    “Your Mama’s yappin’ in the back seat
    Tell her to push over and move them big feet
    Every Monday morning I gotta drive her down to the unemployment agency
    Well this morning I ain’t fighting tell her I give up
    Tell her she wins if she’ll just shut up
    But it’s the last time that she’s gonna be riding with me

    You can tell her there’s a hot sun beating on the black top
    She keeps talkin’ she’ll be walkin’ that last block
    She can take a subway back to the ghetto tonight
    Well I got some beer and the highway’s free
    And I got you, and baby you’ve got me
    Hey, hey, hey what you say Sherry Darlin'”

    When I was a kid the concept of no drinking and driving was near ridiculous. We used to throw a 24 in the trunk and drive out on logging roads in the mountains. Called them…”road pops”…

    I wonder what personal vehicle will be invented in the future to support our love of autonomy and mobility as much as the petrol fueled car has meant to Europe and North America?

  7. The Cars ‘Drive’

    Prince ‘Little Red Corvette’

    The Who ‘Jaguar’

    Benny Hill ‘Ernie, The Fastest Milkman In The West’ – although I’m not sure a milk float really qualifies….;-)

    • I forgot about Jaguar. Prince for sure has to be on the list. I don’t think I know the Cars’ song. In fact, I don’t think I know any songs by that band. Benny Hill? Har!

  8. Salvelinas Fontinalis

    Well there was Commander Cody with Hot Rod Lincoln

    And the Playboys with Beep Beep

    • Both superb additions, Salvelinas. I love both those songs. The guitar work on Hot Rod Lincoln is perfect. Did you know that Commander Cody is also an art teacher in Wisconsin? Har!

Have your say...