comments 5

Desperadoes Waiting for a Train

I received an email from my pal East Texas Red. Now he was concerned about me, concerned that I was going to run out of train songs, and he wanted to be sure I was going to land on my feet. East Texas Red kindly sent me a site full of mining song videos. I appreciate him looking out for me, but I just want to say I’m not quite done with the train songs just yet.

Today I’d like to feature a Guy Clark song, Desperadoes Waiting for a Train. Here’s Nancy Griffith with some friends…including Mr. Clark. I tried to embed this video as I normally do, but it wouldn’t embed. Maybe it’s some kind of conspiracy designed to thwart my effort to do so. I really don’t know. Maybe it’s my computer. Instead, watch it here.

I was going to post a few different versions of the song, but this one pretty much nails it. He sure writes some sweet songs, that Guy Clark.

 

5 Comments

  1. East Texas Red

    It’s pretty clear, Mr. Anchovy..that your adoring public is craving Mining tunes..Nice one Mr.Fontinalis

  2. Salvelinas Fontinalis

    Who knew? I figured after this one we just didnt need any more…

  3. Salvelinas Fontinalis

    What?? There is more than one mining song? Yikes! Who knew? I figured once we had one “darn good song for a miner” we wouldnt need any others.

    • Sixteen Tons by Tennessee Ernie Ford
      North to Alaska by Johnny Horton
      The Mountain by Steve Earle and the Del McCoury Band
      Dark as a Dungeon by Merle Travis
      …need I go on?

Have your say...